Five Signs of Purity for Gold Jewellery

The festive and wedding season is on and most of us would be rushing in to jewellers to buy Gold/ Silver Jewellery. Here are the five signs engrossed on the jewellery which proves golds’ purity:

BIS Standard Mark: BIS means Bureau of Indian Standards. Licence is granted to the jewellers by BIS under Hallmarking Scheme. The BIS certified jewellers can get their jewellery hallmarked from any of the BIS recognized Assaying and Hallmarking Centre.

Purity Grade: This is the number which shows the purity of Gold. Following is the meaning of these numbers:

  • 958 – 23 carat
  • 916 – 22 carat
  • 875 – 21 carat
  • 750 – 18 carat
  • 708 – 17 carat
  • 585 – 14 carat
  • 375 – 9 carat

Assaying and Hallmarking Center’s mark: The Logo of BIS recognized Assaying and Hallmarking Centre where the jewellery has been assayed and hallmarked

Year of Marking: Code letter represents the year of hallmarking of jewellery and is decided by BIS e.g. letter ‘A’ Donates Year 2000, ‘J’ for 2008, ‘N’ for 2011 and ‘P’ for 2012

Jewellers’ Identification Mark: Identification mark of BIS Certified Jeweller/Jewellery Manufacturer

signs of gold
Five Signs of Purity for Gold Jewellery

4 thoughts on “Five Signs of Purity for Gold Jewellery”

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *