80C Tax savings 5 years Fixed Deposit Interest Rates

In a few weeks most of salaried people have to submit their tax saving investment proofs and this is the time when we all rush to make our investments. Also with stock markets in doldrums for the year a lot of you might be interested in fixed deposits. I have compiled the prevailing interest rates offered by banks & institutions which are eligible for tax deduction under section 80 C of income tax.

Click for Best Tax Saving FDs

BanksInterest Rate (p.a.)Type of Bank
GeneralSenior Citizens
Tamilnad Mercantile Bank10.00%10.25%Private Sector Bank
IDBI Bank9.50%10.00%Public Sector Bank
State Bank Of Travancore9.50%10.00%Public Sector Bank
South Indian Bank9.50%10.00%Private Sector Bank
Oriental Bank of Commerce9.50%9.75%Public Sector Bank
City Union Bank9.50%9.50%Private Sector Bank
State Bank of Bikaner and Jaipur9.30%9.80%Public Sector Bank
Corporation Bank9.25%10.05%Public Sector Bank
United Bank Of India9.25%10.00%Public Sector Bank
State Bank Of India9.25%9.75%Public Sector Bank
Karnataka Bank9.25%9.75%Private Sector Bank
Catholic Syrian Bank9.25%9.75%Private Sector Bank
Syndicate Bank9.25%9.75%Public Sector Bank
UCO Bank9.25%9.75%Public Sector Bank
Mahanagar Co-op Bank9.25%9.25%Private Sector Bank
Central Bank Of India9.09%9.59%Public Sector Bank
Punjab and Sind Bank9.05%9.55%Public Sector Bank
Indian Bank9.00%9.75%Public Sector Bank
Indian Overseas Bank9.00%9.75%Public Sector Bank
Karur Vysya Bank9.00%9.50%Private Sector Bank
Jammu & Kashmir Bank9.00%9.50%Private Sector Bank
Andhra Bank9.00%9.50%Public Sector Bank
ING Vysya Bank9.00%9.50%Private Sector Bank
Lakshmi Vilas Bank9.00%9.25%Private Sector Bank
Bank Of Baroda9.00%9.00%Public Sector Bank
Canara Bank9.00%9.00%Public Sector Bank
Dena Bank8.75%9.25%Public Sector Bank
ICICI Bank8.75%9.25%Private Sector Bank
State Bank Of Hyderabad8.75%9.25%Public Sector Bank
Vijaya Bank8.75%9.25%Public Sector Bank
Abhyudaya Co-operative Bank8.75%9.00%Public Sector Bank
State Bank Of Mysore8.50%9.00%Public Sector Bank
Nainital Bank8.50%9.00%Private Sector Bank
Allahabad Bank8.50%8.50%Public Sector Bank
Bank Of Maharashtra8.30%8.80%Public Sector Bank
Axis Bank8.25%9.25%Private Sector Bank
HDFC Bank8.25%8.75%Private Sector Bank
Dhanalakshmi Bank8.25%8.25%Private Sector Bank
Maharashtra State Co-op Bank8.00%8.50%Co-operative bank
Thane Janata Sahakari Bank8.00%8.50%Co-operative bank
The Shamrao Vithal Co-op Bank Ltd8.00%8.00%Co-operative bank
Dombivli Nagari Sahakari Bank8.00%8.00%Co-operative bank
The Ratnakar Bank7.75%8.25%Co-operative bank
IndusInd Bank7.75%8.25Private Sector Bank
Nutan Nagarik Sahakari Bank7.50%8.25%Co-operative bank
SBI Commercial and International Bank7.50%8.00%Public Sector Bank
Nkgsb Co-op Bank7.25%7.25%Public Sector Bank
Greater Bombay Coop Bank7.00%7.50%Co-operative bank

The highlights of the scheme are as follows :

  • Deposits are accepted for a period of 5 years only
  • Interest rate as applicable from time to time for 5 years to term deposits. Senior citizens are entitled for additional interest as applicable.
  • Depositor can opt for either cumulative or non-cumulative way of crediting periodical interest.
  • Depositor gets benefit U/s.80C of the Income Tax Act. 1961
  • Minimum deposit is Rs.100 and in multiples thereof
  • Maximum deposit in a Financial Year Rs.1,00,000/- [i.e., 1 st April to 31 st March of the following calendar year]
  • Deposits cannot be withdrawn prematurely
  • Deposits cannot be pledged to secure loan or as security

We have tried to keep interest rates up to date, but as these change frequently you are advised to check with the bank before investing. Also it would be great if you can point out any errors!

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *